Saturday, March 4, 2017

How Gluten-Friendly is Your Lunchmeat?

Lunchmeat seems like a simple thing- you chose from turkey, ham, beef, or chicken, and it's sliced in the deli to your specifications. Like with most foods though, there's a potentiality of hidden gluten in some varieties of lunchmeat, which make visiting the deli counter at your grocery store a potential gluten-free pitfall. 

Inspired my recent lunches that feature a turkey or chicken sandwich, I decided to do some lunchmeat sleuthing to see how gluten-free friendly top brands were... or where not. 
Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Back To School Schar Gluten-Free Giveaway

It's that time of year- the start of another semester. I am excited to embark on my senior year, and have started the 11 month countdown to receiving my diploma this December. 

As I return to my on-campus residence hall and dive back into work, classes, and my internship, I am reminded of just how important it is to always have a supply of safe foods on hand to ensure that I am never in a pinch food-wise. An important part of staying on top of my food supply is knowing which brands I can trust, and Schar is one of those brands. Their breads, cookies, and crackers make gluten-free living delicious and easy.

As a way to celebrate the start of a new semester- and my ongoing partnership with Schar- I am hosting a giveaway of their new artisan baker bread, multigrain ciabatta, and chocolate thins. All three easily fit into any active lifestyle, and are all certified gluten-free. Do note that all three contain soy, and that the cookies do contain dairy. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Click here to see my review of Schar's shelf-stable pizza crust.

Click here to check out Schar's website and learn more about their products.
Sunday, January 22, 2017

Restaurant Sleuthing: My Tips and Tricks for Finding Gluten-Free Restaurants

Oftentimes, when I am speaking with readers on social media or talking with gluten-free friends in real life, people always ask how I am able to find so many gluten-free eats wherever I go. The truth is, that finding gluten-free restaurants is almost a part time job, and requires as much research as any of the research papers I have to write for class. 

There is so much fear surrounding eating out gluten-free that it can be absolutely overwhelming to consider all the options and still feel 100% comfortable with taking a chance. If there's anything I've learned as a blogger it's that gluten-free eats can be found almost anywhere, you just need to do research and ask questions. 

I've assembled the following resources and tactics I use to help me find the restaurants that I review over on the main blog. I hope they are helpful, and invite you to share your tips and tricks to tackling the challenge of eating out.
Saturday, January 21, 2017

My Top Must-See Washington D.C. Attractions

It's been awhile since I posted in this "behind the scenes" section of the blog, but my writing itch has reemerged, and I've had a flood of new post ideas. Since the main blog focuses on food- restaurants and products- I figured I'd veer off the beaten path a bit to explore areas beyond the restaurants and products I review on the main blog: travel, recipes, and other tips about how to make life a little more manageable while living with dietary restrictions. 

This post was born of my many trips to Washington D.C. in search of foodie finds. While I spend a lot of time eating in the District, I spend a fair amount of time playing tourist too, and want to share my favorite places in the city- which might not be the most popular ones in guide books, but are ones worth seeking out. 

Washington D.C. is such an incredible city, rich in history and culture, with endless things to see and do. From museums and galleries to national buildings where the United States is run on a daily basis, any itinerary can and should be jam-packed to make the most of your visit to the nation's Capitol.
Monday, June 20, 2016

Food Labels Declassified Part 2: Paleo, GMO, Vegan... Oh My!

In part one of this series, I discussed the various gluten-free labeling certifications, trying to make sense of what they mean and the methodology behind them. 

In this post, I am delving in to other food labels to watch out for and what they mean (and don't mean). It's a confusing world out there for label readers, so I hope to make it just a little bit easier to understand what packages and boxes mean. 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

Spring Freely with Enjoy Life Foods

When it comes to crafting, I'm not one for paper, glitter, and glue, preferring creativity in the kitchen as my medium of experimentation. When Enjoy Life Foods reached out to me to showcase a fun spring-themed "dirt cups" using their top eight allergen free products just in time for Food Allergy Awareness Week (May 8-14, 2016), I was totally on board, especially when the brownie mix is involved! 

A year ago, I was sent samples of Enjoy Life Foods' newest product line: gluten-free, vegan, top 8 allergen free baking mixes. Super simple to make because they only call for water and oil to bring them to life, I definitely loved their ease of use and that they remain allergen-free post baking, unlike many mixes which call for eggs, butter, or other allergens introduced. 

To read my full review of four of Enjoy Life Foods' baking mixes, click here.

What's cool about these dirt cups is that they are super simple to make and definitely appeal to kids of all ages. Because they're allergen free, they also are appropriate for people with various dietary restrictions. Why not prepare a couple to celebrate Food Allergy Awareness Week and Celiac Disease Awareness Month (also in May) together?

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Food Labels Declassified Part 1: Gluten-Free Labels

This is part one of a two part primer on food labels for gluten-free or dietarily restricted eaters. Stay tuned for the next installment, which will be linked to this post once it is published.

Because I am always seeking out new products on store shelves, I have become very familiar with the array of symbols and logos often present on packages that alert customers that a product is gluten-free, vegan, Kosher, or any other attribute. While some are regulated and have methods to ensure a product's compliance, others are just words on a package and don't have any implications for food safety. Although this post is not a definitive round up of certifications and symbols, it's an overview of what to look out for when food shopping to demystify the process.